Teachers and snow

Sparky71

Now that the first snow of the winter has fallen in the North West, I notice, as happens every year, how many schools are closed partly due to "teachers being unable to get to school because of the snow".

Seeing as how the rest of the country manages to get to factories, hospitals and power stations, often at 6am, I fail to see why teachers can't manage to get in for 9.

Perhaps they need to spend a bit of time during their teacher training on driving in snow.

well i managed to get to work but was on a loser money wise. flattened the battery trying to start the bike and had to get a taxi there and back.

six hours worked for a net gain of ten quid less tax etc.( ten quid each way to work :cry: ) would have taken a bus but would not have got there in time to start shift :(

I work in a school (but not as a teacher), any teacher only needs to have a small cough and they are off sick. They can't do any paperwork otherwise they call in their union rep :roll:

These teachers moan about crap wages and poor working conditions - the average teacher pay here is ?40k and the kids are a good bunch. Not a bad craic if you ask me!? At least they have job security :roll:

They're on cloud cuckoo land these teachers :roll:

the average teacher pay here is ?40k

Strange :? The highest pay scale for a teacher is Upper Pay Scale 3 which pays ?35000 - a special needs allowance would take that up to ?37000 :?:?:?

Yes but not in Goat land where facts mean little if they do not support ones point of view. I take it he is a caretaker and we all remember what miserable old so and sos they were :D

So, there's been a bit of snow and half the schools in the North West shut. Right, I'm one of the older members of this site and I remember the Winter of 1946/47. I was only 4 years old but I remember it well. Not only was it one helluva Winter, there was coal rationing and very frequent power cuts.