Gas shortage this winter?

Bill

The prospect of power cuts during the winter doesn’t sound too good but I wonder how the projections are made. I think most people are already planning how they can reduce their gas bills this year through a variety of means. We were only getting 4% of our gas from Russia so I reckon the reduction made by the public will be far higher than that. so to my way of thinking  we shouldn’t have any issues.

I’m toying with the idea of buzzing off for a long pensioner style winter break, somewhere where it’s not so cold. I’ve never done this sort of thing before, but a bit of Spanish warmth sounds better than freezing to death here. My gas normally runs about £300/ month during the winter peak so whatever a break might cost, I should be able to knock that off the price.

So what plans are others making to stave off the worst of this?

Bill 😊

Think I'll invest in some thermal layers Bill.  I don't think Spain will be a solution, it still gets cold at night and they'll be paying sky high prices for heating too, as Germany seems to be cornering the market on fuel imports, as the great EU starts to look after their National interest before the common good !   As for heating, with nothing else to spend on - heating and eating will be the priority I guess.     :unsure:

The wife and I have both had our thermal tops on for the last week or so and as a result we haven’t needed to use any heating at all yet. I mentioned this in the pub on Tuesday and found the four other blokes round the table had already done the same. I don’t normally bother with thermals during the winter, and I only bought mine because I was building an extension to the house during the winter months. Anyway, it’s not been too bad up to now, but I suppose it won’t be long before we need to crank up the heat.