So which party is best to run our council.

Pete76

Without revealing my political preference I'm interested to know how we can get a better council. I often think that who ever runs our council are doing a poor job.

Nationally I think that my political preference is often different to my local preference.

Anyone feel the same and does this expose issues with our political system.

I suppose running a council with such budget reductions isn't easy and then you have these ridiculous rules about having to spend a budget on anything otherwise next year there won't be one. Are the rules of running a council to blame.

By the way, im only speculating about how councils are run, I'm no expert so don't get your high horses correcting me.

Party political manifestos and affiliations should be banned at local government level. It should be about electing a known and trusted local person to best represent the interests of their ward electorate in whatever situations arise.

That person should take DIRECT operational control of whatever portfolio of services they take on - and should be held ACCOUNTABLE for any failings in those departments.

In return they should be paid a decent full-time salary for the work that they do, and as such should be barred from holding any other jobs or offices.

Such a system would even work out CHEAPER than our current one of having both councillors on expenses and allowance as well as face-less heads of departments receiving stupid salaries, huge redundancy pay-offs when they screw up, and gold plated pensions regardless of performance.

I don't think any party is the best to run our council - what would be best is that if all the councillors elected to represent the people in their respective wards, all worked together for the good of our town - and put their political differences to one side.

Too much eneregy is wasted attempting to score cheap political points.

Actions speak louder than words!

Here endeth the lesson.

• Upvote 3