Painter fuming over fine for smoking in own van

Mary

A painter and decorator has been fined for breaching Britain's smoking ban -- by puffing on a cigarette in his own van, he said Friday.

Gordon Williams, 58, of Llanafan in west Wales, was told by officials that his van was classed as a workplace and so fell foul of the ban, brought in last year to cover enclosed public places but not private areas.

He was fined 30 pounds, even though he says he was not working and was on the way to buy his wife some teabags at the time.

"I appreciate that a driver of a coach or a bus can't smoke at the wheel because obviously, that is the law of the land," he said.

"Of course, there are tools and things in the van but a barrister would carry about documents in a briefcase in his own car -- this is no different to my mind."

Ceredigion County Council, which imposed the fine, said it would be inappropriate to comment on individual cases.

:roll::roll:

Whilst I'm no lawyer: I suspect this guy has a case. :shock: They claimed his van was "his place of work" and thus fell within the terms of the legislation. :? The guy is a painter and decorator, which means his "place of work" is the homes/premises where he is actively employed to redecorate/paint, his van being merely a means of transport TO that place of work. :shock: What's clearly happened here, is that because of the ovine compliant nature of the British public, this law is being largely conformed with; thus the "smoke police" are really having to stretch a point to find any offenders - thus this act of desperation. :wink:

I use my own car for work (I'm a sales rep) & can't smoke in the car as the rules say that you can't if the vehicle is being used for business by more than one person, even if not at the same time or all of the time.