Starmer bemused -

Observer II

Seems Starmer can't believe why Labour was rejected in the Uxbridge by-election, well it's simple Kier;  your not a "Leader" but a follower, without principles, willing to promise anything to get through the door to number 10.   His promises change almost weekly, followed by U-turns;  and his absence of a personality doesn't help.   The reality is, the Country is in a mess, with the Tories having squandered their 2019 support by not delivering on Brexit, failing on immigration and allowing the spread of wokeism, including the economic suicide of net-zero fantasy policies, which are injuring the indigenous working class.   So basically, voters have no confidence in any of the major parties, and are simply not bothering to vote.   So I guess it's back to the future, a pre 2019 hung parliament being dragged along by the global tide. Beam me up Scottie.       😠

I’m no expert when it comes to politics, but it seems to me that the result there was due more to the imposition of the low emission zone heavily promoted by the Labour Mayor Sadiq Khan. Without that, the result there would probably have been the same as the other places.

Bill 😊

With something as unpopular as this, I wonder what would happen if everyone simply ignored the system and completely refused to pay the charges? They could probably issue fines to everyone but again if nobody paid then they couldn’t send half the population of London to jail.

The way I see this whole thing with the ULEZ is that it’s too much stick and not enough carrots which is a bit bonkers because given time, there’ll be no option other than to own a none polluting vehicle. They can’t make electric cars fast enough and big sticks won’t change that.

Bill 😊