WWII MSC Shipping

algy

WWII Shipping in the Manchester Ship Canal during the latter stages of the war.

Liberty ships in Manchester docks, note the bow mounted gun.

MSC_Victory_Ship.jpg

MSC_Victory_Ship_2.jpg

MSC_View_from_Grain_elevator.jpg

WW2_Manchester_Ship_Canal.jpg

In wartime camouflage with the funnel top section and mast sections having been removed at Eastham to enable clearance to pass beneath railway bridges during transit of the canal.

ManchesterDocksduringWWII.jpg

Oil tankers unloading at Stanlow oil refinery dock.

Stanlow_Oil_Dock.jpg

Algy Fantastic photos is there a chance I may put 2 of these photos in our tribute to the M.S.C. on the 30th January 2012 at the Halton Town Hall I'm sure the councilors would be very interested ..cheers art.

arty, use them with pleasure. I am adding another six as I am sure you will be able to use these, all these on this topic were given to me by an ex MSC employee on a cd, I have a collection of MSC tugs photos some of early paddle tugs, let me know if you require any.

MSC Company Launch - the "Silver Arrow".

CompanyLaunch-SilverArrow.jpg

MSC Tug - "Dovedale".

5255583696_7eca3cc4fe_o.jpg

MSC Tug - "Walton".

5252108017_3b018f1fa3_o.jpg

MSC Tug - Lymm towing a barge on the Bridgewater canal by "Piggeries Bridge" at Walton.

5252107103_8c56978c06_o.jpg

MSC Tug "Preston" sunk at Astmoor Feb. 1947. She was holed in the bow while ice breaking.

5252707360_1c548c4299_o.jpg

Very early picture of Mode Wheel on the Manchester Ship Canal.

Mode_Wheel.jpg

Algy .many thanks The Dukers are a wonderful forgotten past of the Bridgewater canal.I will put them on the Bridgewater tribute at the same venue..may I say the M.S.C. is my pet subject and the main reason is I build model tugs and sail them at various Bridgewater events with our Runcorn & District Scale model Boats club. I'll put a photo on when I can.. I will always accept photos of any tugs ..once again many thanks art.

6461988651_fe942b1c02_b.jpg