Why?

algy

Well originally I think it was to have bit of gold put by for a rainy day and cover the cost of burial. Most pirates are portrayed in that fashion in films etc.

These days who knows. The ones that really make me shudder are the ones with those hoops in the ear lobe that you could pass a snooker cue through eeugh!

Must say that I have never been one for wearing any sort of jewellery, but that is because I was a machinist and was always worried about it catching in the machines whilst I was working. Which is why to this day I do not wear rings and only occasionally wear the necklace that my better half bought me with the grim reaper pendant on.

Dunno but.....

I was talking to one chap on Friday night, who had, had his ear lobes holed and discs put in them. The discs were about 2.5"- 3" in diameter. I asked him if he belonged some kind of sect or group. he just laughed and said no it's just for fashion. Odd as it may sound, they did look quite good. He was in his mid 30's.

His mate had his head shaved and tatooed all over, just like Queequeg from Moby Dick, and he did look like him.. Little does he know that , that will be his name from now on in the fishing scene :) . And he had two ear rings in each ear. Again, it sort of suited him, and he didn't look out of place. On first glances he looked like a real hard nut. But on speaking to him, he was a bit of a pussycat. They were a couple of nice blokes actually. :)

I once thought it was because of cold weather -if your ears dropped off they would go "ting" when they hit the pavement, but you might have to have jewelllery on other places if that were the case.

So that's why pirates had gold ear-rings - didn't know that.

Don't know much modern stuff - but isn't the ear-ring something to do with s**, or preferences in that, for yours truly, a rather redundant pastime.

Happy days (quiet nights)

It doesn't cost much to have a peircing Obs or if you are brave you could do it yourself. :wink: