Xmas Turkey?

observer

Got a few tips from Delia the other night - when you cover the bird with foil, make a tent effect above the bird, which acts as as oven within the oven. I've always cooked it upside down, to allow the juices to run into the breast, but noticed she cooked it right side up - but kept it basted. :?

I've always cooked mine the right way up and kept the foil loose (tent like) at the top and basted at regular intervals... :shock:

I'm a naff cook or so I thought ... but maybe I'm not so bad after all if Delia is doing it the same way as me :D

You have made my day Obs :D

Wonder how many spoonfulls of Bisto gravy granuals (for turkey of course) she uses though and wether she prefers her christmas pud with custard out of a tin or the packet stuff that you mix with water.... tinned is far better in both consistency and flavour in my opinion :lol::lol::wink:

Obs missed the bit where Delia rammed pork mince stuffing into every possible orifice, smeared half a pound of butter over the bird and THEN layered it with a kilo of good streaky bacon. Thereby keeping the healthy white meat moist and succulent whilst leaving the gravy-making juices so loaded with cholesterol that you'd be dead by Boxing Day......

I found her dull, dull, dull and thought there was very little in the hour. More an exercise in selling her new book than a cookery programme, I think. All that intercutting with her walking in the garden and examining bags of breadcrumbs in her freezer was a right waste of time.

I like the bit where we're all supposed to keep bags of frozen king prawns handy in case of unexpected visitors.... :lol::lol::lol: turn up at my house uninvited, you take pot luck on what's in the cake tin and join the ranks at set mealtimes!