Good Idea or Bad Idea?

Bill

Saw on the news today reports about a device that if fitted to a car would automatically detect the speed limit and reduce the speed of the car accordingly. The report said that the devices, which are available now, would prevent people from getting speeding tickets and also reduce road fatalities.

Opponents of the system claimed such a device would create a zombie like style of driving that may well end up being more harmful. :roll:

Bill :)

Can the device be over-ridden?? I don't think I'd like to rely on my car actually braking for me :shock: Never really trusted 'thinking' technology and mechanical 'brains'. Sat Navs alert you if you are going over the limit by a constant beep which is useful although somwhat annoying when 'it' thinks the road is a 30 but it's actually a 40 etc.

I'd be happy to have something that ensures that at all times I am not going over the speed limit. I'm a careful driver but someimes it is easy to creep a little over for a short while without realising....... would be useful when driving in Wales though as it would mean that drivers could keep their eyes on the road rather than glued their speedometers :wink:

It can be over-ridden. A little red button in the steering wheel.

Also like most things, it would be optional, which defeats the object in my opinion.

I think they should be compulsory in built-up areas. Either that or give me a gun version whereby I can stand on the side of Knutsford Rd and zap the idiots who IGNORE the law. I would also like a ray gun that can transport idiots who deliberately block junctions back to their starting point. They might then get the message of more haste and less speed.

A bit like ID cards where the law breakers won't have one. :shock::shock:

Peter..... I see your point :shock: If it can be overridden then you are right in the fact that those who believe that are beyond the law will just continue in their usual irresponsible driving fashion. :evil: