What's your opinion

Stallard12

In the fifties I always thought that Warrington was  much more of a complete, homely, family town than places like Leigh, St Helens, Widnes and every town in Yorkshire.  Maybe it was the accents or maybe the level of grime or the color of their buses.  Thing is, from what I have seen, all of the Lancashire towns have suddenly got character and Yorkshire has the prettiest villages, while Warrington turned into East Germany !  Please don't be mad, I'm just using Obs ' flowery speech'.

My opinion is that it is all the fault of Warrington being designated a New Town.   What do y'all think?  Would you rather it had slid into rustic, or is economic benefit worth the result ?

Your "East Germany" comparison is way out to be honest Stall. Warrington is a very large town and, by all accounts, very successful economically, with some parts rustic. Something for everyone if you like. I've been a Warrington resident for over 30 years and am generally happy here.

• Upvote 1

Where do I find character in Leigh exactly?