Doctors appointments

Bill

I’m not one for seeing the doctor with minor issues that generally go away on their own but just now I’m feeling that poorly that I tried to make an appointment today and got told the earliest appointment was for next Monday. It’s been this way for years, a constant two-day wait so why cant the bloody doctors put a weekends overtime in just for once in their life and solve the never ending problem.

When I worked in the electronics industry I noted the racks of circuit boards waiting for repair appeared to be a constant and not related to the production quantities. The explanation given by the head repair guy at the time was that because he was the only one able to do the repairs, a constant rack of repairs gave additional job security and ensured he could attract a higher salary.

I think there are strong parallels here and the general public are the ones that loose out all round. :x

Bill :)

• Upvote 1

I once rang the surgery for a next day appointment to see my doctor in the UK.

The receptionist apologised and said the doctor was fully booked but advised me to call again after 8am the next day to see if they could fit me in.

The next morning I started to ring the surgery at 8am and the phone was engaged every time till I finally got through at just after 8.10am. The receptionist told me that they were fully booked and the earliest appointment they could offer me was Wednesday morning of the following week, some 8 days later. Would I like her to book me in. A pause, for dramatic effect, then I told her I could be dead by then. She told me to hang on. She came back a couple of minutes later and told me if I was at the surgery for 1.30pm the next day, they would fit me in to see the doctor. :blink::huh:

Cleo

Yes they told me to try ringing at eight in the morning along with everyone else that might be dead after a five-day wait. See how poorly I am, I said two days but Wednesday to Monday is five days.