Care Homes?

observer

I can only say that it pays to look at the overall number of care units of various types in this country.

As I work in the private sector I see almost continuous assessment of care standards, which we all welcome, as it is good to know if something is going wrong or something is especially right.

The media tend to ignore this as it isn't newsworthy, so those of us "doing the job" just get on with attempting to help those in our care to achieve the maximum that they can.

I can only say that it pays to look at the overall number of care units of various types in this country.

As I work in the private sector I see almost continuous assessment of care standards, which we all welcome, as it is good to know if something is going wrong or something is especially right.

The media tend to ignore this as it isn't newsworthy, so those of us "doing the job" just get on with attempting to help those in our care to achieve the maximum that they can.

Is this just a box ticking exercise? How do you catch patient abuse by spending a couple of hours in the place?

We expect good care in these establishments, what we don't expect is mental and physical abuse of our loved ones. Of course it is newsworthy in the fact that the problem gets flagged up.

One of the reasons I would never let my mum go into a home and why I did everything I could to ensure she spent her last years in her own home. I fitted CCTV in the house and the carers knew it was there so there was no worries on my part as I could remotely access the system 24 hours a day if I needed to.

We also had the carecall system fitted by the council (If anyone has elderly relatives living on their own I would highly recommend that service as it is marvelous)I also went round up to 4 times a day so I always knew what was going on and I was always around when mum needed me to be.