Sign in to follow this  
asperity

Random Breath Tests

The Government is to introduce random breath testing "within weeks". Ministers are said to be "convinced that this is the way forward in catching drink drivers". They were'nt convinced enough to include the measure in last year's Road Safety Bill, as their advisers had told them that it was ineffective. The real reason for its introduction is that they have been ordered to do it by their masters in Brussels. :wink::wink:

I agree but am aware this may be very un popular. There are a lots of people who are over the limit in a morning after a heavy night before and soooooo many people think they're OK, they can handle thier drink or they are above the law or don't beleive or understand how the body processes alcohol and how long it takes or how many units are in each drink. WELL DONE and about time even if it is a deterrent!!!!

I am a pedestrian too but it wouldn't bother me if I was a driver.

Tilly,

I don't think officialdom are aware that people are still under the influence in the morning. Especially shift workers going in for 6 am.

They wouldn't have enough bags to blow into.

They introduced this in the Republic of Ireland a couple of years ago, and the Garda target people on their way to work in the morning because they know that's when they'll catch the most offenders. More revenue for the coffers. :wink::wink:

We have had them here for years - I think it was MADD ( Mothers Against Drunk Drivers) that pursued it and got states to realize if people think there is a chance they will get caught, then they find a better way to get around like a designated driver or a taxi!

Sorry guys, but I am all for it.

Seems a good idea to me, there must be a load of people who get bladdered and home in the early hours grab a few hours kip.

They then hit the road till over the limit with not a care in the world until it's too late.