Vacancy for council clerk

Gary

How come Stretton only get ?7k but Culcheth get ?60k :shock:

How much do all the other Parishes get and what happens to all the area who don't have Parish Councils :?:

The stipend for Burtonwood and Westbrook Parish Council in 2007/2008 is 72k. I'm still new to this Dismayed so I can't help with how the figures are arrived at or how the areas which do not have a parish council are given their money.

If you look at your council tax bill you will see the amount you are charged for your parish precept.

Some areas have a bigger precept than others because they do additional things in the community.

e.g Penketh has one of the biggest parish precepts to help fund the public baths built in the area by the parish council.

If Stretton only charge ?7,000 they won't be able to do a great deal in the local community which involves spending public money.

Parish Councils have powers to do things that where there are no parishes are done centrally by the local authority, here's a list of some of the things parishes might do....PJ will particularly like item 1....on the subject of which, and further to another topic, I am making a special point of mentioning allotments during my section at Parish Council meetings:-

The provision of allotments.

Developing and improving knowledge of the arts and crafts.

Provision of bars and laundrettes.

Cemeteries, crematoria, maintenance of churchyards and the provision of mortuaries.

Provision and maintenance of public clocks.

Provision of any form of public entertainment and of any premises for giving entertainments; this includes maintaining bands or orchestras and providing for dancing.

The provision of buildings for public meetings and functions, indoor sports, physical recreation, for clubs having recreation, social or athletic objectives.

The provision and maintenance of footway lighting, which lights roads and pavements.

The provision of litter bins and the support of anti-litter campaigns.