Thankyou

Stallard12

Just say'in.  Our gas is now $1.90 gall, which I think is about 38 p a liter - thanks fracking !    Fracking has made the US pretty much independent in oil and gas production.  There have been multiple private and government investigations searching for adverse effects and none have been found.  This is backed up by the fact that there is not one proven case of pollution or water table contamination recorded in the US.   All opponents are merely political alarmists.

Please consider this in your response, if any, I am a mechanical engineer (retired), with 50 years experience in petro chemical major project management ( now cowboy and rancher !), who has been personally involved in these studies.  Don't let these penny ante activists idiots succeed.

• Upvote 1

I doubt fracking will ever succeed in the UK as it did in the states due mainly to the difference in public opinion on climate change. Yes we saw the burning water and dead cows and some of the scare stuff obviously rubbed off on our politicians who then set totally impossible seismic targets for the industry.

But leaving aside all the rights, wrongs and technicalities of fracking, we’re being told (and probably right) that burning gas, just like burning petrol, is something we need to move away from, so it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to develop a new technology for something with no real future. So, we’re being told that the future (if there is to be one) is going to be all electric with no burning of fossil fuels. I doubt anything we do on our small island will solve the world’s problems, but if nothing else it should help improve the air quality in our local towns and cities.  

Fracking could bring the down the cost of petrol and a bag of coal but it’s all a bit pointless if we don’t need either. The country is trying to get us to pay good money buying cleaner cars but that won't happen if we keep reducing the cost of the dirty fuels.

Bill 😊