Child suicides

Bill

I was quite shocked the other day when It was announced that nearly 5000 people commit suicide each year and a large and growing proportion of these deaths were young children that were subjected to online abuse. 

I have my daughter, her husband and their two children living with us at the moment while their house is being refurbished I now I can see first hand how much their life revolves around their mobile phones. I don't know how typical this is but every single day, these two (aged 11 and 13) literally have their faces in their phones from first thing in the morning to last thing at night and are totally oblivious to anything being said to them or happening around them.

Now I'm no expert but I feel that anyone who spends the majority of their life online are far more likely to be affected mentally when things start going wrong in their virtual world. Then because they've lost some of the ability to communicate with the people around them, things can build up that might lead to more serious issues like suicide. 

Bill :)

• Upvote 3

Alas the online word is becoming the norm to youngsters these days and to us 'oldies' too Bill. 
I've seen kids not even into their teen years yet with mobile phones and internet access and of course they are online on computers or games consoles at home too.  We used to limit our lad when he was young to time online and he didn't have a mobile phone with internet as it was just for phone calls and capped too.  If he wanted to go on the internet he had to use our home desktop computer and that was downstairs not up in his bedroom so although we weren't looking over his shoulder it was always clear to us what the was doing or at least he though it was.  That was not intentional it was just the way it was.