80 mph ?

observer

80 mph isn't too high providing the conditions permit but consider this.

1 make the speed limit 8 mph and all journeys will take ten times longer to complete so at any given time, there will ten times more cars on the motorway hence even more nose to tail stuff.

2 make the speed limit 800 mph though and journey times will be a tenth of what they are now. So at any point in time, there will only be one tenth the number of cars hence greater spacing.

it's a bit of a chicken and egg situation I suppose.

Bill :) 

As HGVs are limited to 60mph on motorways, why have you allowed him to get 10 yards behind you when you have a speed advantage of 10 mph?

Has happened to me many a time.

Mainly because as a responsible driver i use the inner lane most of the  time. This means that those that do hog the middle lane tend to leave little or no room for me to get out when i need to overtake a slower HGV. as a result i have to slow to 60 whilst trying to find a gap in the middle lane to over take. this means that i then end up with a hgv in front and one behind (and usually a lot closer than ten yards sometime closer than ten feet).

I have also been overtaken by hgv, whilst doing 70mph on the motorway and smiled at the little sticker on the back that says this vehicle limited to 60mph,as they proceed to leave me behind.

Perhaps all vehicles should have speed limiters on them set for 70 or whatever the Maximum speed limit will be. That way there should be no problem with speeding on motorways and some people would point out that it would be more economical fuel wise.

Personally i cannot see the point in having a car or otherwise that will travel at two or even three time the legal speed limit. At those sort of speed they are not driven they are merely aimed.

• Upvote 1