Skeltons (Ironmongers ? ) Help needed .

GL 2484

I am an amateur Metal Detectorist. I was detecting at Preston Brook last week and found a spent shotgun cap with the Eley manufacturers stamp that also carried the Vendors headstamp

' Skelton's Ltd Warrington '.

Anyone out there know of Skeltons Ltd?

I know from previous experience that vendors such as Ironmongers, who sold Shotgun shells, quite often purchased Shotgun shells from Ely's and had their name added as a form of advertising.

I would say the shotgun cap dates to the late 19th to 20th century.

Glenn

Had a quick trawl of the web and come up with an Elijah Skelton who is listed in a directory at 20 and 22 buttermarket street. he is down as a general dealer in one section and as a hardware and general dealer in another. also came across a page that had him at the same address with the additional infromation of him being a cutler. the person who put this information on the page was answering a queery by somebody else into a straight razor by skelton of warrington. They gave a date of 1871.

Maybe one of the other posters can find a bit more in one of the directory sites. Will ask teh oracle later to see if the name rings a bell (otherwise known as my mum who can't remeber what day it is half the time but can give chapter and verse on anybody living within a five mile radius of bewsey).

Hi GL2484 and welcome to the forum :D

I'm trying to look in the old newspapers although the site they are on is going really slow tonight. 

My searches for Skeltons Ltd Warrington and similar in the old papers have only returned an 'Elijah Skelton' too so far in that that a partnership was dissolved between a William Wheeler and Elijah Skelton of Warrington, Lancashire, Hardware Dealers  (newspaper dated 14 September 1859)

Sorry if that is not much help but I'll have another look tomorrow.

There is another member called Indy who is also a metal detectorist/archaeologist on here so maybe he can help if he's reading.