Bate/Miller

sylvia131

Hi could some one plz help with the children from Charles Bate D.O.B 1879 Death 1947 Married a Bertha Miller D.O.B. 1878 They married in 1899 at St Pauls Church Warrington. Im just learning how to work the sites like BMD but when i  put in surnames to find children loads have come up could someone plz check for me has im sure these cant be all there children, Thanks x

Are you sure that Charles Bate died in 1947 Sylvia as the one who keeps popping up when I search 'Ancestry' showing a death in 1922, Warrington.  It might be a different Charles B though although I don't think it is.... Have you GOT his death certificate confirming the death you have?

Anyway.....

I have a marriage (1899 in Warrington) between Charles Bate , (age 22 born 1879/80 Higher Walton) to a Bertha Alice Miller  (age 22 born 1878 Warrington).

1901 census has Charles and Bertha living at 25 Turner Street (next to Winwick Street) but no children and Bertha's father Richard Miller, age 68, widow, is with them.

I can't find Charles and Bertha on the 1911 census (damn I might have to rejoin Find my Past and get over my grievance with their new awkward site lol....)

I have however found a 1911 census return for a Charles Bate (same birth and born Higher Walton) with a wife Elizabeth and a daughter Elizabeth aged 7 living at 68 Sharp Street, Warrington.

At first I thought maybe Bertha was a shortened name for Elizabeth but the census gives Elizabeth's age as 23 and also shows that her and Charles had been married for LESS than ONE YEAR.

I'm gueesing if he is the same Charles like I think he is then Elizabeth age 7 could be the child of Charles and Bertha..... maybe they DIVORCED or she died and he remarried ????

Off for another look now :wacko:  :lol: