Equal Pay?

observer

Seems the Law Lords have ruled in favour of an equal pay (for women) claim by Unison. Now whilst I can understand, that a female bricky should be paid the same rate as a male bricky; I struggle with idea that a cleaner should get the same rate as a binman, merely because they work for the same Council? The jobs are different and presumably warrant differing rates of pay, irrespective of gender? But there is a glimmer of light in all this - we could all argue that we require equal pay with Bankers or Footballers for example !

What's new about that, so was I when I was an apprentice, £1 - 10shillings for a 44 hr week, £1 to my mum for my board and 10 bob for me!.

True, but your wage went up each year and considerably more when you finished your apprenticeship. Todays kids are on the same wage for years unless the government decides to increase it.

Think the problem relates mainly to Councils, where men and women work for the same employer, thus are all "Council Staff" and (they argue) entitled to equal pay. No mention of job evaluation, skills requirements, academic qualifications, degrees of physical or mental stress etc. All "jobs" are different and thus receive differing rates. Equal pay for EQUAL work eh?!

Think the problem relates mainly to Councils, where men and women work for the same employer, thus are all "Council Staff" and (they argue) entitled to equal pay. No mention of job evaluation, skills requirements, academic qualifications, degrees of physical or mental stress etc. All "jobs" are different and thus receive differing rates. Equal pay for EQUAL work eh?!